IIT College of Architecture Logo My IIT Portal Login
IIT College of Architecture

    Graduate Scholarships

    Admission Scholarships

    Financial aid awards available through the College of Architecture are merit-based scholarships and fellowships only. Teaching Assistantships are available only to qualified graduate students after they have completed their first year of study. To be considered for a scholarship or fellowship, please check yes to the application question "Do you wish to be considered for financial assistance from IIT?"

    These scholarships were awarded for the 2012-13 academic year and are subject to change.

    The intention of these awards is to recognize academic excellence. The Dean’s Scholarships are awarded in the amount of $6,000 for the first academic year. To qualify, a student must be a full-time (9 credit hours) graduate student and maintain grades of a B average or better.

    Graduate College Dean’s Fellowships
    These fellowships are given exclusively to incoming students of the highest academic standing for use in their first year of graduate study. For the 2012-13 academic year the fellowships ranged from $6,000 to $17,100. Fellowship amounts are determined by award level as well as the number of credits in which the student is expected to enroll. 

    Students who receive a fellowship may be able to receive a Teaching Assistant Fellowship in the following year(s) for an amount between $2,000 and $8,000 per year, as determined by departmental needs and hours of service a student is willing to provide in return for this tuition and stipend fellowship. To qualify, a student must be a full-time (9 credit hours) graduate student and maintain grades of a B average or better.

    Applicants will be notified of selection with their letter of admission.

    Current Student Scholarships

    Scholarship information and deadlines are typically posted in spring semester for the annual Spring Awards jury.

    Jerrold & Ruth Weil Loebl Fellowship Prize
    Two awards to be used for tuition. Open to M.Arch. students in their first, second, or third year of study.

    Nagle/Hartray Scholarship
    Three awards to be used for tuition. Open to students completing their first or second year of graduate study.

    Perkins + Will Scholarship
    One award to be used for tuition. Open to M.Arch. Program 3 students completing their second year of study.

    Peterhans Visual Training Project Prize
    This prize is a direct, merit-based cash award which recognizes excellence in IIT Visual Training coursework demonstrating the principles of Walter Peterhans, the noted IIT Architecture professor and colleague of Mies.  This prize shall be decided by the Peterhans Visual Training Project Prize Committee, composed of the Dean of the College and a minimum of three faculty members teaching the Visual Training principles, and Mr. Julian Kerbis, the son and representative of the donor, the Gertrude P. Kerbis Trust.