IIT College of Architecture Logo My IIT Portal Login
IIT College of Architecture

    COA Faculty Honored in 2011-2012 ACSA Awards

    COA graduate program faculty have won a Creative Achievement Award from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), a national organization of architecture schools and educators. The ACSA annual awards honor exemplary work in architectural education that challenges students and contributes to both professional practice and the public sector. Faculty members Catherine Wetzel, Paul Endres, and Rick Nelson were recognized for their “Structures in the Studio” program for the first-year Master of Architecture studio. The six-week studio module teaches the integration of material practices in design from the perspective of construction and structural applications. ACSA jurors found that the lectures, workshops, and models focused on structural design linked studio to the profession “not merely as digital simulation, but also as an expressive three-dimensional textbook of applied knowledge.”

    Read ACSA press release
    Read "Structures in the Studio" brief