Apply to be a Resident Advisor

Have you considered applying to be a resident advisor? Resident advisors play a very important in role in developing communities at IIT.

To apply to be a resident advisor, please follow the below steps:

1) Attend a mandatory information session
2) Create or update your resume
3) Complete an application. Applications can be found online at
4) Turn your application and resume to Housing & Residential Services by 5 pm on Friday, January 13th

Information Sessions (all held in MTCC Ballroom)
Monday, January 9, 7 pm
Tuesday, January 10, 9:30 pm
Wednesday, January 11, 1 pm
Thursday, January 12, 6 pm

RA Applicatoin Timeline
Friday, January 13 – 5 pm – Applications due to HRS office
Monday, January 23 – Candidates informed of application status and if they are advancing to group process interviews
Saturday, January 28 – Group process interviews
Monday, February 6 – Candidates informed of their status and if they are advancing to individual interviews
Monday, February 13 and Friday, February 24 – Individual interviews
Monday, March 14 – Final decision letters will be sent
Monday, April 16th – 2012-2013 All RA meeting

The Housing and Residential Services staff hope you find the resident advisor selection process to be a valuable learning experience. If you have any questions during the selection process, please contact an HRS staff member via email at or phone at 312.808.6402.